THOUGHTS ON THE CURRENT DOCTOR, MATT SMITH.

rantingjen

Remember when I complained incessantly that David Tennant was lame and that the only true Doctor in my heart was Christopher Eccleston? But then thanks to Tennant’s amazing powers of brooding and a few really great side kicks (Martha & Donna) I slowly grew to enjoy David Tennant and maybe even kind of really liked him.

mattsmith

So of course the universe could tell that I was starting to get attached and gave us this guy. Don’t get me wrong, he’s fine. He seems to truly love this awesome job he’s gotten himself and the writing continues to impress so of course he says cool stuff. But… he’s no David Tennant and certainly no Christopher Eccleston. And I feel as though something has changed.

He doesn’t seem as… Amazing as the previous two doctors. Instead of whisking in and saving the day and making bad aliens quiver with fear, he’s kind of getting by on the skin of his teeth frankly and squeaking by on reputation still. I know he’ll save the day in the end because 50 years precedence kind of establishes that it’s likely but instead of him seeming like a Bad Assed Time Lord who knows all and always has a plan he seems more like a really smart kid who might figure it out eventually.

I know. I’ve complained before and come around, but really? I’m not pleased. And also is it fair that my husband now gets to look at her every night:

karen_gillan

And I’m stuck with Matt Smith and Rory?

rory

I mean it’s not like they are hideous or anything but… they kind of make David Tennant seem insanely hot by comparison. Or maybe David Tennant really grew on me a lot more than I realized? Or maybe it’s that the previous two doctors were like men old enough for me to consider attractive and not nearly prepubescent? Okay that’s not fair, according toWikipedia Matt Smith is actually two months older than me, but STILL. That’s not the point.

The point is that apparently I don’t handle change very well yet and I’m annoyed with the Doctor Who universe for making me miss this face so damned much:

david-tennant-as-doctor-w-001

Also, doing a google image search for David Tennant as Doctor Who, by the way, yields some pretty hilarious and terrific results. I miss corny freeze frames that make me giggle incessantly.

Stay tuned for the inevitable future post about how Matt Smith isn’t that bad and the next new Doctor Who is apparently terrible. Poor guy (or gal??) hasn’t even applied for the job yet and I’ve already got it out for them.

You aren’t seeing double: This was cross posted at Jen’s personal blog.

All your comments are belong to us. So leave us some.

